#Trust 30: Dare To Be Bold

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

Today’s prompt: Dare to be bold, by Matt Cheuvront

“The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?”

 

One thing that I’ve always wanted to accomplish is to open my own restaurant.

I have always been afraid to pursue this due to a lack of start up capital.

I have worked in and with numerous restaurants over the years.

 

Actually, it is an overstatement to say that I have not pursued this, I have written (and revised many times) a business plan, and even gone as far as talking with a commercial real estate person about an available space (a former McDonalds) in my area.  Unfortunately, it always comes down money being the obstacle.  I suppose that I shouldn’t let money be the obstacle, and I should try to seek out some investors, and that would help solve my money problem.  From the limited experience that I’ve had in this area, investors want to see a track record of success and being a first-timer my enthusiasm doesn’t counter balance my experience.

 

All of which points to two things.

1) I’ve been giving up to easily.

2) In my mind I’ve made the lack of money to be an insurmountable obstacle which has effectively killed my creativity.  I really need to get over this.

2 Comments

  1. Rather than framing it the way you did: “I really need to get over this,” try seeing it this way: “I am about (the business of) “getting over this.” You are expecting to hurdle over the obstacles, when reality is taking you through them. Going through them will strengthening you, IF you don’t give up. Remember not to grow weary in well doing. In due time and at the appointed season you will reap if you don’t relax your courage and faint (Gal. 6:9). Remember also that what you give into becomes stronger over you and what you resist, you will be stronger against. Keep going until you get your break-through brother. You have what it takes, you just need to keep giving it what it takes. Even if you never reach your goal, you are headed somewhere brother…..keep going!

  2. Thank you for the encouragement.

    You are right about “being in the business of getting over this”…I’ll get there.
    And soon.

