#Trust30: Come Alive

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

Today’s (Sunday’s) prompt: Come Alive by Jonathan Mead

“If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? In what areas of your life are you preparing to live?  Take them off your To Do list and add them to a To Stop list. Resolve to only do what makes you come alive.”

Sadly, these questions have gotten worse in a hurry.  I think that perhaps they all seem to be written by single people with no children.

But still, I will answer as I’m committed to doing this for the month.

If you had one week to live, no one would still be doing what they are doing now.

If I had one week left to live, I would spend it 24/7 with my family…which would mean not going to work, which would be asinine to put on my “To Stop” list.

I actually really enjoy my job, but I love my family more.  If I had a week to live, I’d be sure that the kids stayed home from school, so that we could pack a massive amount of memories into that one last week.  But I certainly am not going to encourage my kindergartner to drop out.

Would probably eat a lot less healthily and and stop exercising.  Things that since I plan to live a lot more than one more week have value.

Planning for a last week is preparing to die, not preparing to live…so I find this theme today to be terribly flawed.

Comments are closed.

