Grammar Ain’t What It Useda Be

First off let me say I that I am not part of the “Grammar Police”.

I don’t typically nitpick if you write its or it’s (especially not in text messages or tweets)….if you are going to take the extra time to put in the apostrophe, please know the difference between its’ and it’s.  It’s not that hard.

I think that the English language is growing and evolving thing.  I grew up when Prince title songs “I Would Die 4 U” and the Beastie Boys had “So What’Cha Want”.  I’m all for creative people being creative.

 

But there is a huge leap between artistry and corporate communications.  I get that companies want to be cute and memorable (I do work in marketing, believe me I get this).  What brings about my anger is when a company goes with a tag line, that so grammatically stupid, it just makes no sense.

Take Qwest Communications, for example.

On their website they now have ads proclaiming “Qwest is becoming CenturyLink.  One company, stronger connected.

I’m not making this up.  One company, stronger connected.

Do all they base are belong to CenturyLink?    (Please tell me that you get that reference).

 

Seriously this tag line is so bad, that it made me angry….okay time to get over it and go home.

Comments are closed.

