#Trust30 Your Personal Message

NOTE – I never received the Trust 30 email for 6/8, so these are appearing out of order.  I plan to go find that later, and make a second post today.

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

Your Personal Message: by Eric Handler

What is burning deep inside of you? If you could spread your personal message RIGHT NOW to 1 million people, what would you say?

Interesting stuff.

My personal message.

I spend a lot of time spreading our corporate message, which is something that I am very involved with creating.  In fact, that is a message where I know what to say, and finding a million (or more) people to spread it to is one of the challenges (and joys) of my job.

My PERSONAL message.

It is so much easier to focus a message about a product into a sentence or three; than it is to distill myself into a similarly short message.

I was going to sum it up in to one quick tag line that was overly short (Quit Whining), but I kept going.

“Quit whining.  Quit letting your self, your life, your skills, your marriage, etc atropy.  Anything worth having or doing is worth working for.  Quit worshiping no-talent-clowns celebrities…and Quit watching reality television.”

Unfortunately that has too much emphasis on quitting.  Normally, I don’t take the negative approach to saying something.

Long ago, I heard some advice (that has definitely stuck with me) about instructing your children; which was to say things in the manner of  “Close the door” instead of “Don’t leave the door open”.

The idea is to say what you want, and give you kid something as goal instead of telling them how wrong they are (the description and research on this went much deeper).

However, I sort of feel that some people (read that as MANY people) really need a wake up call.

Just think how productive you could be this summer if instead of watching “The Voice” and/or “The Bachelorette”, you did XXXXXXX.  There is a lot that you could do with that extra 3-4 hours per week for next month or two.

Comments are closed.

