#Trust30 Fear

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

Fear by Lachlan Cotter

Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed? Put yourself in the shoes of the you who’s already lived your dream and write out the answers to the following:  Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?  Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?  Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?  Now Do. The Thing. You Fear

Is fear holding me back.  I’m sure that it is.

Fear is really what hold everyone back, and it is one of the reasons that I have begun this Trust30 journey.

I have been terribly afraid of people think about my writing, or my thoughts/opinions.

I have no dreams or desires to be a “professional blogger”, but the insecurities that I have about writing are indicative of much more.

A colleague recent said (or borrowed from someone else) something to the effect of: “Don’t worry about what other people think, because chances are they aren’t doing it very often”.

It really is true.

This seems to bring back some memories of the movie “Fight Club”.

It also reminds me of a video blog that my friend Bill Lennan has recently started: http://playingwithfear.com/wordpress/

 

Comments are closed.

