#Trust30 Surprise

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

Surprise by Ashley Ambridge

Think of a time when you didn’t think you were capable of doing something, but then surprised yourself.  How will you surprise yourself this week?

Well it’s not the most professional example…we have this beastly, huge old Sony TV.  It was the top of the line tube TV (back 10 or 11 years, when HD was ridiculously expensive, etc).  This TV is not only HEAVY, but it doesn’t have any good handholds, so moving it carrying it, etc takes 2 people to carry and a third to spot you in case the weight gets off kilter.

Recently we have moved, and when friends were help us move in, this TV got left out back on the screen porch, until we could figure out what to do with it.

Well not only is the TV ridiculously heavy, but so is the entertainment center that it goes in…and they both we in the wrong place on the screen porch…and really in the way.

So I got my 5 year old daughter to cheer me on, and I moved both of them.   And because I didn’t like where I put them the first time, I moved them twice, and then lifted the TV up into place in the entertainment center.

 

On my to do list would have been something like “bribe a friend with beer to get some help moving this monster.”

But after I got past the point of thinking that I couldn’t move it, I moved it twice.

Mainly it comes down to stopping thinking about how hard it would be to do it…and just thinking about how to do it.

Comments are closed.

