#Trust30 – You Know

#Trust30 is an online initiative and 30-day writing challenge that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.

Use this as an opportunity to reflect on your now, and to create direction for your future.

30 prompts from inspiring thought-leaders will guide you on your writing journey.

You Know by Jen Louden
We live in a society of advice columns, experts and make-over shows. Without even knowing it, you can begin to believe someone knows better than you how to live your life. Someone might know a particular something better – like how to bake a three-layer molten coconut chocolate cake or how to build a website – but nobody else on the planet knows how to live your life better than you. (Although one or two people may think they do.) For today, trying asking yourself often, especially before you make a choice, “What do I know about this?”

“What do I know about this?”

The aforementioned person who thinks they more than me, would be my mother in law.

I swear, listening to the soul-sucking venom come from her mouth can make me doubt that I even how to tie my own shoes.

I’m not much for reading advice, or watch “make over shows” (although my daughter loves Extreme Home Makeover and how they help people, so we will watch together sometimes)…but the “advice” from my mother in law can honestly make me forget that I know anything.

I think that I will make it a point of thinking to myself “What do I know about this?, when I talking to or listening to her.

Comments are closed.

