40 Things to Do Before I’m 40 – The Perfect Manhattan

I’m not really that familiar with Manhattans.

Back when I was in college,  The Simpsons did the “Bart Joins the Mob” episode.  In that episode the substitute bartender makes Fat Tony a Manhattan that generates the response “What have I done to deserve this flat, flavorless Manhattan”.  Bart then is ordered to make Fat Tony a Manhattan (and his life, seemingly depends on it).  Fat Tony pronounces Barts’ Manhattan to be “Su-poib”.

My friends and I still use the catchphrases “Su-poib” and “What have I done to deserve this flat, flavorless Manhattan”, regardless of if a Manhattan is involved.

So I asked some friends, and finally settled with the recipe that my friend Sally gave me.  Sally went to bartender school and as a side gig does some bartender at weddings.

Here is her recipe:

2 part Southern Comfort

1 part Sweet Vermouth (I used Martini and Rossi Rosso)

Dash of Angostura bitters

4 ice cubes

 

Ice goes in glass, then add Southern Comfort, vermouth and bitters.

Drink.

Feel the hairs on the back of your neck tingle.

Enjoy.

 

