Grilling the Perfect Burger – 40 Things to Do Before I’m 40

How to grill the best burger ever.

The key is to start with great ingredients.

The quantities here are for 8 burgers.

  • 2.5 lb beef (chuck roast)
  • 1 container of blue cheese (I think that these are about 4 ounces)
  • 1 package of buns (I recommend Orowheat Potato Buns, but you can get fancier I suppose)
  • 3 walla walla sweet onions
  • 1 lb Bacon
  • Salt, turbinado sugar, pepper, olive oil, balsamic vinegar
  • Pappy’s BBQ seasoning (or similar rub)

PREP:

ONIONS
Slice sweet onions (thick), 4-5 slices per onion.  Using a tooth pick will help keep the slices intact during marinating/cooking.
Put in a 1 gallon ziploc with sea salt, cracked pepper, raw sugar, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
Marinate in fridge for a couple hours

BACON
I make my own, but any “good” bacon will do.
Cook it as you normally would (do this ahead of time)

MEAT
Buy big hunk o meat (chuck tenderloin whatever)
Cube it about 1″ or so
Season generously (I use Pappys)
Set in fridge, covered for a couple hours
Grind the meat (I use the kitchen aid attachment)
Form in to balls about the size of a baseball (I get about 3 per pound of meat)
Divide each ball in half.
Flatten each of those halves
Put blue cheese on one
Put the other half on top, an press together

COOKING
Grill onions, this can get messy so I try really hardy keep the slides intact.  I usually remove the toothpicks, but not always.

Cook them until they are soft, and brown (and perhaps a few are getting black)

put them on a piece of foil in back of your grill…(optional, dust them with a bit of brown sugar)
Keep cooking them until the are gooey and brown and melty, move them around with tongs every so often

Cook the burger like you normally would.
IF you cooked the bacon the day before, you might want to warm it on the grill

Toast the buns on the grill

Top the burger with the onions and bacon

Serve.

Wait for the compliments.

Thank me later.

