October Is National Cyber Security Awareness Month

While personally, I think that EVERYDAY should be a Cybersecurity awareness day, the good folks at the Department of Homeland Security have made October National Cyber Security Awareness Month.

This “awareness month” was created in 2004.  Have previously heard of it?  I’ve been aware of the awareness month, since 2010, but I think that the overall awareness of National Cyber Security Awareness Month (NCSAM) is still quite low.  Which is quite a bad thing, since the number of online security threats seems to growing on a daily basis.

Let’s take this opportunity to share our knowledge with our friends, family, and co-workers.

Some ideas:

-Talk about malware/viruses with your co-workers
-Suggest to your neighbor that he put a password on his wi-fi network
-Remind your mom that around Christmas time, she will probably get lots of emails pretending to be from FedEx, that have an attachment. DO NOT open the attachment.
-Visit the National Cyber Security Awareness Month website for more ideas

I’m sure that there are many other great ideas that you may have.
Please feel free to share those!

(I do practice what I preach, and those 4 examples are things that I have done in the past, and yes, my mom still did click on the link in the fake FedEx email).

Comments are closed.

